Punaweb Forum
Poof - Printable Version

+- Punaweb Forum (http://punaweb.org/forum)
+-- Forum: Punaweb Forums (http://punaweb.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Punatalk (http://punaweb.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: Poof (/showthread.php?tid=18208)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6

Poof - Obie - 03-28-2017

http://www.staradvertiser.com/2017/03/28/hawaii-news/canary-islands-option-appeals-to-tmt-officials/?HSA=353f8a2bb68cc4f8c281405fd5e079dfab4a36a7

Say goodbye to the TMT !

RE: Poof - TomK - 03-28-2017

Thanks, Obie, it's a good article and is pretty much what I've been saying for quite a few months now. If the commitment to start TMT construction remains this time next year, then I can't see how it will be built here. The article also has a very good summary of the disadvantages of the La Palma site. At optical wavelengths it should be fine, but there's no way it can compare to the Mauna Kea site for infrared performance. It will lose capability.

RE: Poof - HereOnThePrimalEdge - 03-28-2017

Yes, thanks for the update Obie. The Canary Islands make the most sense for a second choice, as they have the needed infrastructure (unlike India), a modern airport and close proximity to Europe. But it's still a second choice, and the judges overseeing the hearings and appeals here are fully aware of the time constraints.

You could never convince a monkey to give you a banana by promising him limitless bananas after death in monkey heaven.

RE: Poof - TomK - 03-28-2017

HOTPE - I'm sure the current contested case hearing judge, Amano, is aware of the TMT deadlines, but her decision is yet to be appealed and there's also another potential contested case hearing coming up (subject to appeal) for which no judge has been appointed. If it does take place, I can't see it starting for several months.