Punaweb Forum
Copyright Infringment for an Image?? - Printable Version

+- Punaweb Forum (http://punaweb.org/forum)
+-- Forum: Punaweb Forums (http://punaweb.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Punatalk (http://punaweb.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: Copyright Infringment for an Image?? (/showthread.php?tid=381)

Pages: 1 2

Copyright Infringment for an Image?? - Carolann R - 04-13-2006

I love to paint and did one yesterday with Israel Kamakawiwo'ole in mind...having said that...I put it on some things in my store at http://www.cafepress.com/dreamhawaii

So then I got to thinkin' I know it's my painting but IZ is so famous in the islands could I get in trouble?

I sent an email to Mountain Apple Company and am waiting for reply...hope they don't make me remove him...but - it is what it is. Anyone have any insight?

Mahalo!

Carrie Rojo

RE: Copyright Infringment for an Image?? - Andrew - 04-13-2006

Hi C:

I am no lawyer but:

It is your painting and there is nothing that says who the painting is of on your website and even if it did it is your creation. In my mind you are ok with your painting.

Just my opinion FWIW

RE: Copyright Infringment for an Image?? - Howard - 04-13-2006

You can't copyright a person's name or appearance; you can copyright a specific image or design or photograph that includes one or both of them. If you used a specific pose in which Iz appears on an album cover, for example, or printed his name in the same font and color as it appears there, you could be in trouble. On the other hand, if you created an image of Iz that has not been copyrighted by anyone else, in a pose coming from your own imagination, you should not have any problem. Mountain Apple has rights only to its own creations, not to Iz himself.

Howard

RE: Copyright Infringment for an Image?? - Carolann R - 04-13-2006