Punaweb Forum
Moving to Puna - Printable Version

+- Punaweb Forum (http://punaweb.org/forum)
+-- Forum: Punaweb Forums (http://punaweb.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: Punatalk (http://punaweb.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+--- Thread: Moving to Puna (/showthread.php?tid=9433)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6

Moving to Puna - jennysart - 10-30-2011

I am moving to Hawaii this summer after my teaching contract expires. I have family in Maui, but it is just way too commercial, busy and expensive for me. I have been researching where else to live in Hawaii and I am really interested in learning more about the area around Pahoa. I am coming from Kentucky where I have been a teacher and professional artist for 12 years. I sell work at galleries around the US and feel confident my work will sell in Hawaii too. My husband is retiring from his job as an accountant from the state and is looking forward to the move. We have one son in the 5th grade. We love water; snorkeling, swimming and fishing, gardening-growing gourds especially, and just being outdoors. I am interested to know if anyone has had luck growing gourds in Puna? I have read that they are difficult to raise due to various pests. I do understand the importance of gourds in Hawaiian culture- I have been researching them for years. It is one of the reasons that we decided to move to Hawaii!
Any advice or information would be appreciated. Thanks! [Smile]
My web-site is www.jzgourds.com

RE: Moving to Puna - DanielP - 10-31-2011

Jennysart,
My first suggestion is to move over and rent a vacation rental for a month or two while you look for a longer term rental. Then take the time to get to know the island.

It is good that your artwork will sell in many galleries in the country, since relying on the local economy for a needed income is probably a non-starter. Few and low paying jobs for almost anything along with a higher cost of living.