Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Kids, STEM AND TMT a true story, and a good one
promote healthy discussion between supporters and opponents.

By Kauionalani Onodera

Growing up in Hilo I attended Ellison Onizuka Science Day practically every year, collecting "space swag" from the exhibits and classroom discussions. With my eye on the sky, I vowed to pursue a career involved in contributing to humanity's collective knowledge of the universe.

The author on the mauna
Eventually, I graduated from the University of Hawaii Manoa's engineering program,
ready to pursue my dreams and conquer my final obstacle: finding a job. Looking to stay in Hawaii, my options came down to construction or military-related work. However my space-oriented career goals led me to applying for jobs on the mainland, and accepting that my dreams might never come true in Hawaii ... until I got a call.

In college, through the Akamai program, I interned at the Daniel K. Inouye Solar Telescope being built at the summit of Haleakala. In the summer after graduation I was contacted by a woman who saw me present my internship project and asked if I was interested in working for DKIST. I accepted her offer, excited that I could contribute to building the most powerful solar telescope in the world, in Hawaii! However, with this career came a new set of challenges.

Following the 2015 protest against the Thirty Meter Telescope, the word "telescope" had practically become a nasty swear word to be avoided in casual conversation. Fortunately my family supported my career, especially my Hawaiian grandmother and mother, but I found that I mostly avoided talking about work, especially when I could be targeted, challenged, or threatened.