Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
buying used shipping containers (again)
Ben Alonzo (Keaau Service) moved a friend in HA - it was a 40' high cube that they placed with 2 heavy duty forklifts.

My other friend may have a container available in the next couple weeks at a good price if any one needs one still. Email me and I'll give you her # and email.

She has to move it or sell it by Feb 1.
I'd bid but don't have a property in Hilo yet. My Resolution is this year or bust.

Also although it's possible to raise the box with jacks isn't it worth hiring the forklifts especially for fine placement?

If you have a box on the Columbia River might get better bids in Astoria. I always like to mention Astoria the title of my fav book.[Smile]
quote:
Originally posted by Erlinda

How in the world did you get the container onto the concrete blocks? I'm trying to envision this--did you have a crane? I've never worked with containers before, obviously!

Mahalo!

I thought I would answer this again with a little more detail. To get the container off the truck bed, the bed tilts and the container "slides" off. While it sounds dramatic, it is a very slow process and there is plenty of time for "fine tuning" the placement of the rear blocks. The front of the container is dropped directly onto the ground and then later lifted up with chains attached to the rear of the truck bed by controlling it's tilt. While it is suspended by chains, the concrete blocks can be slid under the front of the container. In our case, we used two blocks in the front because the pitch of the ground dropped four inches over the 40 feet.
quote:
Originally posted by MarkP