Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Finding work in Puna
My husband and I are finally ready to make the move back to the Big Island with our one year old son. I haven't been there for ten years (to the date!). I've since gained a lot of knowledge and experience and a pretty good resume. I am a Quality Analyst for a Hospital here in the Bay Area, CA. I know of a few Medical Centers, mainly Hilo Medical Center. But I don't want to limit myself to the Health Industry only. Especially since the job market is completely different on the Island. I've searched some local papers, websites, Craiglist, Monster.com. Does anyone have any suggestions for finding good employment on the Hilo side? Thanks in advance.

Suyana
Suyana
Oh I forgot to mention...I'm open to doing some farm work, food service, etc. while I'm looking for an Administrative job. I'm thinking I may not be able to secure a job until we actually get there. If anyone knows of any opportunities coming up a few months from now...thanks.

Suyana
Suyana
Your skills sound great! I assume you have already heard that island employers are reluctant to hire the newly arrived (malihini), and that the new status can extend for years. In part because so many people have left again after being trained.

Of late, I have run into more new to the island people holding jobs. Macy's and Home Depot clearly are open to malihini.

Some other places in Hilo, many others, I may be cynical but you'll get a job only if there's absolutely no nephew cousin auntie or uncle that wants it.

Call it nepotism or call it the community taking care of its own by offering employment to long time residents and family first ...

Honestly, I cannot understand moving here, with a child to support, unless you either have a job lined up, or two, OR you come with two years of living expenses in the bank. Especially now that we're sort of in a depression, an economic downturn for sure.