Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
goat hunters
Are there any goat hunters? I understand there's quite a few and goat hunting at the upper elevations sounds like fun. What's considered a good calibre for goat hunting there? What are commen ranges for shots when hunting goats there? I suppose I will have to make advance arrangements with Pam in case I go hunting and don't take one I can then stop by her place so I can lie about what a great hunter I am.

Pua`a
S. FL
Big Islander to be.
Pua`a
S. FL
Big Islander to be.
Well, I have never heard of many wild goats in Puna, but while doing checks of the hunting areas around PTA and Pu'u Huluhulu on opening day of bird season (I am a DLNR Conservation Officer AKA Game Warden), I saw several large herds. For goat size game here, you could get away with a .223 Rem. if you are a careful shot, but a .243 or 308 Win. would allow for the longer shots. You should be able to get within 100 yards or so, but with enough gun, if you're a decent shot you could shoot out to 300-400 yards.

When you are here, call 974-4221Division of Forestry and Wildlife) or 974-6208 (Division of Conservation and Resources Enforcement) for current info.
Ruger M77 in 308 then, thanks.

Pua`a
S. FL
Big Islander to be.
Pua`a
S. FL
Big Islander to be.
Good choice. Give me a call at 808-974-6208 if yo have any other ????. Ask for Andy.
I imagine Goat Hunting is on the same level as Moose hunting....real challenging![:p]

-----------

Let's get together and over grow the government!!!!
-----------

Support the 'Jack Herer Initiative'NOW!!
Thank you Andy. I will do that.

BB,
I've never been goat hunting but I understand it usually entails considerable hiking and that will certainly be a challange for me. But I want to try.

Pua`a
S. FL
Big Islander to be.
Pua`a
S. FL
Big Islander to be.
Im very curious about the Mouflon Sheep down in Ka'u.