Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Hi! I'm new!
My husband and I are currently in escrow on a Hpp property. My last task is to find a job there so escrow will close. I am in the interview process at Hilo Medical Center ( I am a nurse- Director of Nursing , but will do just about any aspect of nursing to get there. We are so excited to be relocating from the outrageus propert prices here in San Diego. Tis is our first home and we will be coming over with 2 boys 15 yrs and 9 yrs and a bischon named Ipo.I belong to the Konaeb forum and saw this link on a post there. I wanted to say hello to my future Puna neighbors and make friends here. If all goes well, I will be there in Dec with furniture and car and big dreams for a simple, slow paced life . My husband is an attorney and will be sitting for the bar exam there next year and hopefully find gainful employment. We look forward to meeting folks- so far everyone we've met has been very warm and friendly.
malama pono!
Kathi H

Aloha Kathy. My husband and I bought land in Glenwood (between Mt View and Volcano) on the mountain outside Hilo. We too left San Diego. Not only are prices insane but so are the crowds. No room to breathe there! People are behaving like overcrowded rats in a cage....

I am a nurse but don't work. Hubby is a teacher and will be continuing to work in California for two years before he retires. My job is to get a home built so I travel between Calif and Hawaii.

Know that the commute in from HPP is wicked in the mornings. About 8000 households, most of whom have to make it into Hilo.

I know you will be needed here. Just be patient and the right position will find you. It could take a little time but things here tend to settle where they belong.

Schools here are really different so ask lots of questions. It will be a great adventure. Good luck to you all.

Pam

May you live in interesting times.
I want to be the kind of woman that, when my feet
hit the floor each morning, the devil says