Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Swimming pool contractor
I have a friend in HPP who wants to build a gunite pool in their back yard pretty quick and they can't seem to find a licensed and bonded contractor. Anyone have any good references/experiences using an islandwide pool contractor they're willing to share? Or maybe should she look statewide?
I have heard good things about Paradise Pools in HPP as builders, but I don't know if they do gunite. They did a great job on some catchment work I had, but I have no personal experience with their pool construction. Always get several references!
I quit making pools last year, opting instead to concentrate on our ferrocement water tanks www.pacificgunite.com . I have been directing pool inquiries to my son Tyson who owns Akamai Pools http://www.agpoolsplus.com/ . He does nice work but forget about your friend being in a hurry. The planning department lost his recent SMA application for an ocean front pool in HPP. Three months later it turned up and now it finally goes to the building department. Another pool permit that he picked up last week took him almost 3 months to get through just the building department. We call this Hawaiian Time. What's your hurry? You'll still want to swim in a year from now...Kind of makes it hard to run a business.
Thanks Peter. I will foward the information to them. The reason its in a hurry is its a rental property close to the ocean and rental properties seem to get booked for longer periods of time with a pool. But your right... Our building department sucks big time. No wonder so many people build unpermitted structures.
Mike at Paradise Pools has been in the game for so long I can't believe he isn't able to cut through some of the bull and get your friend squared away sooner rather than later.

Other than pools, my experience with trying to hire qualified help there is one of those, 'don't get me started' deals.