Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Questions on propane stove and dryer...
There's more fire (and explosion danger) with a gas range than electric, something to perhaps consider with a child in the house. I had a gas range at my last house, but I don't miss the open flame at all. But then I'm not a fan of propane. (Natural gas is great but not available.)
At a different stage in my life I was a professional. Cook that is. There is nothing like cooking with gas. Gas contains a lot of moisture so your oven meats always turn out moist. (it complicates things with baking bread etc at times, but there are ways to work with that). And on the stove top... nothing better than almost instantly changing the temp on a saute pan or skillet.

Until I can afford it, I can only dream of having a gas range.

One downside with propane (versus natural gas) is when somebody forgets to turn an oven / burner off, and many hours or overnight later, an empty tank has to be refilled at great expense before ALL the gas appliances in the house can be used again. At least gas dryers and hot water heaters shut themselves off.

Just thought I would share a little technical information for those who would be interested.

What does it mean to convert an appliance from natural gas to propane?

Answer: Natural gas is a lower pressure gas and propane is a higher pressure gas. Because of the differences in the supply pressure, the hole at the end of the line that produces the flame,(referred to as an orifice)size is different. The higher the pressure, the smaller the hole size and vise versa. So, if you connect propane to a natural gas converted appliance your going to have a very large flame because the orifice is large and will allow a large amount of propane to escape.

So how is an appliance converted?