Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
New "Residents" Coming to Fill the Void???
I went out to Kea'au today to do our Sunday fruit / produce shopping at the market.
On the way back, I saw a man standing on the side of the road thumbing for a ride.
he had a stack of things at his side: a cooler with an assortment of things piled up on top of it.
My impression was of things for a low profile living system.
Everything in that stack was very dingy, looking stained and dirty.
He looked a little better, but not by an awfull lot.

I did not stop.
I did not speak with him.
I have no knowledge of what his intent was.
But, my mind's eye saw a flashing neon sign above him flashing: VAGABOND.

I will use that term because I hate the social stratification implied by the term "homeless" and the fear and loathing it seems to bring out in many people.
I have been "homeless" myself, living out of a pack, cardboard boxes, and a storage unit by choice on occasion.
I see nothing wrong with making that choice and will not stigmatize anyone that does.
I am not trying to rouse the peasants up to gab their pitchforks and torches to go out on a hunt.

But, I do not want to see a large influx of squatters coming in and taking advantage of the misfortunes of the actual residents and owners.

Has this potential problem been addressed?
Is it being addressed?
Is anyone even thinking about it?

- - - - - - - - - - -
Was a Democrat until gun control became a knee jerk, then a Republican until the crazies took over, back to being a nonpartisan again.
This time, I can no longer participate in the primary.
He might have been a displaced person. For many years a fair number of low income folks (some with a so-called "hippie" ethic) have been living as renters on various properties, sometimes collectively, throughout Puna. And there have been some squatters.