Posts: 36
Threads: 16
Joined: Feb 2004
Can anyone suggest a menu for dinner for a Vegan who has gluten allergys? What can I serve. I know the vegan part is no animal or animal products. But what should be avoided for the glutin allergys?
Aloha Vicki
vickiboe@aol.com
vickiboe@aol.com
Aloha Vicki - I happen to be a vegan cook and have several friends who removed gluten from their diets. This is easier than you think. I can give you Italian, Chinese, Thai, or Indian alternatives. Gluten-free ingredients have become very easy to find in recent years. So, what would you like?
Posts: 262
Threads: 23
Joined: May 2006
You may also want to check out the new gluten free products from Buddha Belly which are available at Island Naturals and I think Down to Earth. I know they make several types of bread and also some other tasty things your friend might really enjoy. These are made locally by a Punatic friend of mine who is very talented in the kitchen, and I can attest that this bread is delicious!
Uluhe Design
Native Landscape Design
uluhedesign@yahoo.com
Posts: 167
Threads: 9
Joined: Aug 2008
Wheat, rye, oats and barley contain gluten. Watch out for soy sauce, it has wheat, unless it's wheat-free tamari.
No potatoes. If you want to do pasta, my experience is the gluten-free pastas are no good. But you can use the linguini-shaped rice noodles like you would use for Phad Thai. I'm happy to help with menu and/or recipes. I've been eating like this for longer than many have been alive.
And check Kilauea Market on . . .Kilauea, across from the bank shopping center. I also like Down to Earth in the Wal-Mart shopping center as they are 100% vegetarian. Kilauea Market has a freezer section with nothing but vegan frozen entrees. Some are good, some not so much, and some just weird (vegetarian intestines). A very fun market if you've never been in it. Great prices too!
Posts: 468
Threads: 46
Joined: Jan 2009
You could serve polenta with a tomato sauce and some vegetables. You can buy the premade polenta or make it yourself. It's easy.
If you use pre-made polenta, make 100% sure that it is dairy-free. Milk and butter are often used making it unsuitable for a vegan. In it's purest form it is nothing but corn meal and water and pretty easy to make.
Posts: 6,214
Threads: 354
Joined: Feb 2006
I have even made vegan gluten free pizzas, using rice flour for the crust (very thin crust, crispy cracker like) & a thin layer of very thick tomato sauce & lots of flavor packed veggies (one favorite is thai basil...) easy, quick & have even made on the BBQ... good for main course or appetizer.
Carey - Mmmmmmm. I've done that as well. You can also make a "cheese-like" sauce using nutritional yeast. For gluten-free, you have to make sure the yeast was not grown on barley.