Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Aloha! from Tejas
Howdy Folks ! My sweetheart and I are moving to the area and we do not know anyone on the island. I am an artist and jewelry maker., She is an elementary school teacher. ( a great one in imho ) We have been here in Texas for much to long , niether of us are very comfortable being this landlocked. ( I have not cast a net in many years ) I am wondering if I should ship our van over or if we should buy something else upon our arrival . She does not know which school that she will be teaching at yet , so that seem to complicate finding a place to rent. We Love You !!! Happy Day and Mahalo to all !!! Skot & Jamie
Willkomen, bienvenue, welcome! Whether or not to ship your van depends on the value and how attached to it you may be. Shipping cost is obviously less from the West Coast, and I think someone here on Punaweb recently shipped their HHR from there for about $1000. If your van isn't a big commercial one, the cost should be comparable. New and used vehicles tend to cost more here than on the mainland, but you can easily find prices on line. It could easily be worth shipping a low mileage van. Hawaii will even give you credit for the unused period of your Texas registration when you transfer it.

Where are you in Texas? I am a native Texan who has lived on the Big Island for seven years now. Some parts of Texas are much, much nicer than others. Some parts approach hell on earth. I visit several times a year and actually enjoy it for the most part. It's fun to watch my Mama shoot rattlesnakes off her back patio with a chrome plated 410. Sometimes I join in. You'll have to register your guns here. They're funny about that, but it's easy enough.