Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
HPP Private Roads
I'm new to HPP and was just wondering if I could get a simple explanation about our "private roads". Just saw an issue about a private road on Oahu and got me thinking about our roads in HPP and probably other sub divisions too.

Why are the roads in HPP private? Anyone can drive on the roads so they don't feel very private.

How do the roads become public and to be maintained by the county or city?

How do we benefit by having private roads?

Why are there so many gravel roads when the road paving project was supposed to be complete in 2007?

Thanks

Mjolinar
Mjolinar
I don't live in HPP, but as you mentioned, many of the issues you raised are common to most of the Puna subdivisions, so let me take the first crack at this. But let me start by saying if you're expecting logic or fairness on this issue, you're going to be sadly disappointed.

The subdivision roads are privately owned, publicly accessible roads because way-back-when the County figured that no one would ever live here, so they approved these developments without requiring that the roads meet county standards. The window to make them gated roads has closed. And yes, police can pursue you on the private roads and can issue tickets on them (in most cases).

Roads must be brought up to County standards before they can be considered for County acquisition. However, the County doesn't have enough money to handle all the obligations it already has, so there is no incentive to take on new obligations, like roads. And its a moot point because most subdivisions don't have the funds to being the roads into compliance anyway...

How do we benefit by having private roads? We don't (tho some may argue we benefit since our property prices are lower due to the substandard nature of our roads)