Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Need generator expert
Last year I upgraded our generator diesel, 24kw to work off our off grid Outback system. Basic Chinese engine and alternator, Deep Sea controller, put together in AZ

Unfortunate I have a voltage imbalance once under load. Have spent too much time eliminating all other possibilities and as of today am as sure as sure can be that the problem is isolated to this generator. I can hook my smaller backup into the system without any imbalance.

So if anyone knows, I need a reference for someone who knows generators and would know what and how to test so I can report back to the manufacturer on the mainland. Of course if such person can also fix it, that might be even better.

Thanks
David

Ninole Resident
Please visit vacation.ninolehawaii.com
Ninole Resident
Who made the back end? Balmar or leece neville (prestolite) .... find the schematic for your back end (usually online - search by back end model number.

Here is a link to a Stamford (cummins) guide check out the fault / diagnosis section:
https://www.cumminsgeneratortechnologies...nual_8.pdf

Power off - use an ohm meter to measure resistance of the windings ..check and see if one of the output legs are open. That would be the first place Id look - after checking for high resistance in the connections to the genset.

If you hit a wall - buy me lunch and Ill swing by with my test kit - (best if after you get the manufacturer prints)

"Basic Chinese model engine and alternator"... What method is utilized for idle control? Tension spring or an electronic ignition/engine speed (diesel version) sensor and servo based idle controller? If spring tension controlled, they tend to succumb to the elements (rust) out here and lose tension and bring the idle speed to generate below voltage when under load. A new spring set will typically solve the issue otherwise... it's may be in the servo or sensor circuit or something else.