Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Flying Clubs?
Is there a flying club in the Hilo area or know of anyone that rents out their aircraft?
I'm a pilot & looking to fly around the area.
Thanx
Contact Scott at 854-5558. He owns a business were he does flying instruction and rents out his plane as well.
As "Hawaii Bound" mentioned, I recently opened a flight training and aircraft rental business, Aloha Skies Aviation out of Hilo International. My website is www.AlohaSkiesAviation.com. I have a Cessna 172C that has been nicely restored. My rates are $150 per hour wet (fuel included) for the airplane and $50 per hour for flight instruction. If you are not an experienced local pilot, I require you to have 500 hours logged and a current instrument rating to fly the airplane without me or another local CFI along with you due to the unique hazards and procedures of flying in the islands. I will require a short checkout flight in the airplane regardless, of course. I have headsets (if you need them), life preservers and a raft in the airplane.
The full fuel useful load is 570 pounds (I weigh 190 so you and your passengers need to be 380 pounds or less total if I'm going to be flying with you).
I looked into flying tours but the state and federal hassles and fees didn't seem worth it to me, so for now I'm just doing instruction and rental.