Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Rat Lung prevention: It's up to YOU
Hi all,

I am a recent Puna resident (Orchidland) and have been reading up on the latest RLD being discussed. Before my knowledge of it was really limited as i just heard about it in talk story, but it is an alarming disease. No cure? I've spent time reading through the posts on here and have to say I have learned some invaluable information! With the latest spotlight on it, If we wait for Hawaii to address this and act on it, well, by that time we won't have to worry about it because we'all be make` already!

It's up to us, as it is anywhere else, to combat this stuff if we are to take care of ourselves and our ohana. Don't wait for someone else to solve the problem. Some of the prevention discussed is very good, some unreasonable. Those of us with catchment, we have to treat water, as cities do for their residents. Whether its lead, pesticides, Hexavalent Chromium or whatever, it will eventually kill you if it's not addressed.

My neighbor and I have cats, even though my wife is allergic to them, but they do keep the rodents down. That's one vector we can somewhat address. As far as snails and slugs or even bird feces, no can! As I see it, we need to treat the water entering our homes by a UV filter system, chlorine shocking our catchments (do pool tablets work?) regularly and a 5 stage UV water filtration system for drinking water. As far as growing leafy greens and veggies, an enclosed and secure Hydroponic system is really the only way I can see. It's a shame that while all of us moved here to grow our own food, we cannot safely now. It's like any other life threatening issue, educate ourselves as much as we can, come up with workarounds by brainstorming since there is no resolving it, then being prudent about putting an action plan in place best you can. It's like Mexico "Dont drink the water", only you don't just get the squirts!

So the way I see this is: