Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Starting job hunt
Well my house is done and it's back to working life where I actually get a paycheck. I am hoping to totally change careers and work with plants, such as in a nursery. I know there are plenty and will eventually make the rounds. Anyone have any hints or leads? I have no experience outside of my own gardens. I expect to be doing entry level work for a while.

Also, I know in the past people have posted about websites listing jobs, but search does not seem to be working. If you know those posts, can you please bring them forward. I know about craigslist, UH, State of HI, Herald-Tribune. Mahalo.
Hi,

I have one suggestion that may help -- check out the website for Big Island Association of Nurserymen, http://hawaiiplants.com/

There are listings and contact information for all members of the org, along with info about what plants they grow. Many many of these are small nurseries -- Mom and Pops, but others are pretty large and typically would have need of hired personnel.

Also, there's the Hawaii Export Nursery Association, which actually represents larger nurseries.

If you're of a mind to look at retail nurseries, you might give Rosette's a call. Periodically they do hire.

Caveat -- this business does not pay well here. You're looking at pretty low wages in a lot of cases unless you have some specific skills.

I wish you very much luck -- we moved here 4 years ago along with our stock plants and nursery from Maui, and love being nursery folks. That said, it's not a business which brings expectations of getting rich.

Jane Adams
White Cloud Nursery
My gardener Shawn De Vaudrey lives in your area (Belly Acres?). He is branched in with people who work with greenery although I think the circus is his first love. He is really a nice guy, but you will need to catch him quick. He is leaving the island. Bye Shawn.