Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Living in Hawaii
Hi katz,

No internet 30 years ago either yeah ?

I believe below link explains some of recent stuffs :

http://www.usingenglish.com/reference/id...tempt.html

Kalama Boy says:
"Have you ever noticed the posts you are describing seem to always have the most views and replies."

Me:
You make good points KB, but I've also noticed that often the massive replies are the same few people devolving from exchanging ideas to exchanging insults.

Also, as an artist, I understand the value of provocation. Stimulating ideas is one thing, but some people seem only interested in stimulating discord. Entertaining; but frankly, embarrassing for those who fall prey to that tactic.
quote:
Originally posted by Rob: 3. Communication does not require winning.
You're right.

Pua`a
S. FL
Big Islander to be.
Pua`a
S. FL
Big Islander to be.
I understand your point Greg, mahalo.

Rob, thats a good breakdown, I agree with all 3 points.
Couple thoughts:
Just want to be clear as when I read this particular post - I did not post a the joke LaniA refers to. I thought the original poster was making a dry joke about Sarah Palin, using a term, which i responded to.

And as I type here, this is a good example of how things happen and responses are formed. Rob's constant signature of "assume the best and ask questions" is really true. I am impressed with Still Hope who often she uses it to ask questions!

Recently I was attacked by someone, and I tried very hard to not respond with the scathing post I wanted to post (at first). I thought hmmmm... What will I get if I continue to acknowledge their issue yet not attack, just explain. It turned out okay in my opinion but I think a big part was I really had to work at not firing off my first thought of a response.

Just a thought....