Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Gun question
NOTICE, this is a response that does not represent Hawaii laws and should not be taken as legal advice for any jurisdiction. It represents my personal experiences only. If you have questions about law, consult a lawyer.

Never bothered me. Even without the "shall issue", you can carry a concealed loaded gun in your car if it meets the "three step rule". For example, if you have a handgun in a snapped holster hidden under your car seat, you are legal. You can carry a loaded gun anywhere in your car if it isn't concealed and isn't touching you. Plain view on your back seat or dash board or gun rack is legal. You don't see many on truck gun racks anymore as there are now too many thieves. As a cop I just assumed that there was a gun in every car. I've stopped preachers with guns on their seats. They wisely would keep their hands firmly attached to the steering wheel. The attitude of younger cops, especially urban cops, has changed as they have grown up being subjected to years of anti-gun media propaganda. I know one cop that every time he stopped a car with a gun he would get on his radio and yell "signal 0, signal 0" (indicating a gun). I would rush to his aid as back-up only to discover that it was a normal law abiding citizen. I had to inform him that he was causing a disruption, delaying other police responses and to top it off it made him sound like a big puzzy. You should always assume there is a gun and act accordingly. I have also responded as back up and caught the rear seat occupant of a druggie car dragging a gun out from behind the rear seat, while he was paying attention to the other officer. He didn't know I was there until I jerked the door open and screwed the barrel of my magnum in his ear. I don't think any laws would have affected his actions. As I recall he was already a convicted felon. I get long winded and ramble.

Pua`a
S. FL
Big Islander to be.
Pua`a
S. FL
Big Islander to be.
Oink: