Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Lava Viewing
i've hiked out to the flows many times and it is absolutly amazing, however going by boat and backing up to the flows is incredible.

Mella I'm new at this just used compass and backtracked on charted path that it maped.
You can see when your going off of the trail you came in on.

Aloha
Wyatt

"Yearn to understand first and to be understood second."
-- Beca Lewis Allen
About two months ago the lava flow split. When we hiked in from the Puna side in June, it took us three hours, now with the split, the new East Ka`ili`ili entry is a lot easier to get to. The skylight that Wyatt mentioned can be seen on the Hawaiian Volcano Observatory site at:

http://hvo.wr.usgs.gov/kilauea/update/

Connie

Edited by - sittall on 09/15/2006 09:53:48
I was able to hike into Pu'u O'o last week. That was even more amazing than the time I hiked to the lava. We all were able to see the huge lava lake flowing under the east pond vent. None of use died, fortunately. We were with a park ranger who brought respirators, goggles, gloves, and was pretty cautious. Anyway it was the hike of a lifetime.

Where is the new East Ka`ili`ili entry ??? Better yet -- how do we get there, and is this an easy hike in, or should I not tell my five year old, and find a sitter?

Edited by - sittall on 09/15/2006 09:53:48

aloha all,