Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Helicopter Flights Over Hawaii Petition

A friend sent me this petition. Have a look and sign if it is important to you.

Federal Aviation Administration: Modify laws for Helicopter flights over populated areas in Hawai'i

http://www.change.org/petitions/federal-...in-hawai-i
I frequent HPP and other areas of Puna a lot. I won't be signing this petition. I just don't think it is that bad. Admittedly I am a pilot and am biased.
I support it.
Am being annoyed by loud aircraft as I type.
I agree with what the petition says that noise changes our autonomic functions and it is harmful. IMHO a sudden loud noise is harmful because our bodies react to it. Each time a helicopter goes over it disrupts everyone in the household, and I don't see why we have to be subjected to this as the price of living here.

I don't expect that any pilots or aircraft buffs will see past the bias and sign it, or any tour company employees, no surprise there. [Wink]
I live in Nanawale and helicopters don't seem to be a problem here. I've heard loud, tire-squealing cars/trucks to be a problem, however!
He who hoots with owls at night cannot soar with the eagles in the morning.
quote:
Originally posted by MarkP

I frequent HPP and other areas of Puna a lot. I won't be signing this petition. I just don't think it is that bad. Admittedly I am a pilot and am biased.

I signed this petition and hope others will as well. Frequent visits are not be the same as "I live in HPP". Does being a pilot blind one to quiet enjoyment?

gramps
Helicopters were here before I was (they were on Maui as well).... seems unfair to shut them down if they are following FAA requirements - live and let live, tourists gotta see, pilots need to eat... grin

on the upside they do seem to mitigate their routes by changing them around a bit from time to time.